Book Review: “RUN!” by Dean Karnazes

My cat reads with me.

My cat reads with me.

I’ve been on a Dean kick!! Once you get started, there’s no turning back!

In the last couple of months, I’ve learned a lot about Dean Karnazes the ultra running legend. I read the Road to Sarta book, watched Desert Runners and I just got the movie “Ultramarathon man: 50 Marathons, 50 states, in 50 Days” on NetFlix DVD (which I did a book review on a long time ago and It turns out I’ve already seen the movie…I realized after I linked the post).

Anyway, I found and read “RUN! 26.2 Stories of Blisters and Bliss.” I love that this book’s chapters are broken down like that of a marathon, including a pre-run stretch and recovery!

20170117_173812

“RUN!” is a collection of short stories by Dean, from his friends, his wife, and his children. There’s even a chapter on funny race signs he’s seen. This book gives us side stories from events we have already seen or read about and a more candid look at Dean’s life. I love this aspect. It makes him seem more real and human rather than the running machine I picture.

My favorite story is either the one about carrying the Olympic torch or when he goes on The Regis and Kelly Show to break the world record for longest run on a treadmill (he met Obama before he was president and because he has vaseline on his hand, he fist bumped him!). I also really love the letter from his wife; it was super sweet and a good view from his family.

I definitely recommend this book to any Dean Karnazes fan. If you’ve never read anything by him before, I suggest starting with his other books.


I checked mine out from the library but you can find it on Amazon HERE:

What do you have to say?

