Greetings from Washington, state that is. (+Updates)

Hello from Ellensburg – er….now I’m in Seattle. The Sea/Tac Airport to be exact. And I’m on my way home.

I have been in Ellensburg, WA for the past 4ish days visiting with some family. As much as the travel bug has been biting me lately, this was not on the list. Not to say it’s bad – just unplanned.

You see, my Grandparents live in Ellensburg which is about 1.5-2 hours east of Seattle. Over the last couple of years, my grandfather’s health has been declining, as what happens in life, but after a recent trip to the hospital, my mom and I decided to just make the trip out to see him.

So, last Monday, we bought tickets and on Friday we packed our bags and headed to the airport. Well, I’m sure my Mom packed her bags within reasonable time. I, being a professional procrastinator, packed the hour before leaving. No joke.

As much as I was looking forward to camping and a 14er hike with the boyfriend’s family, I am glad we finally got out to see my Grandpa because that is more important. I hadn’t been out this way for 6 or 7 years, although I did see my Grandparents at my Mom’s wedding a couple of years ago.

11209617_10102401870015223_8669750848117142848_n

It was a good, relaxing break from work. There wasn’t even WIFI (gasp!) so I spent a lot of time reading, watching football with Grandpa, coloring and watching the Disney channel with my cousins and hanging out with my Mom, Aunt and Grandma in the kitchen.

I even got in a run with my some special running buddies!

My Mom and two cousins!

My Mom and two cousins!

(Follow me on Instagram to see more pictures from my travels.)

Updates:

Since my last post from Oregon (geez, I need to get better at this blogging thing), I have been keeping busy as always.

-The day after I got back, I organized another one of my Brew Runs.

-I ran road Ragnar the weekend after returning from Oregon.

race_891_photo_23635632

-Went on a lovely date with the boyfriend to the Melting Pot….mmmmm…

-Volunteered at the Splash and Dash, a kid’s Triathlon.

-STARTED COACHING CROSS COUNTY AT GOLDEN HIGH SCHOOL! This deserves all caps because A) I have been wanting to coach here for a while, for many reasons but also B) Because this is quite a refreshing coaching job!

These kids are super motivated, really respectful to the coaches and each other, and just all around good kids!

If you’ve been following Racing the States for a bit, you would know that I have been coaching Cross Country at Arvada High School for the last two years (my alma mater). This year, the head coach left, leaving the spot open, but the athletic director filled it with a non-runner-teacher without posting the job. For gosh sakes the guy didn’t even know my name or realize he had another coach on his staff! Don’t even get me started on that guy/school….

Anyway, I was pretty bummed that I didn’t get the job, nor the opportunity to apply for it, but accepted the fact that I wasn’t coaching that season. However, on my friends coaches at Golden High School, which is conveniently in the city I live, and said there was a spot open…without hesitation, I say “DUH!” and started coaching the following week. IT’S BEEN AMAZING!

And yes, I still will be coaching track at Green Mountain High School in the Spring. Besides, Golden does already have a Jump’s coach.

Back to my updates….

-I went on my first backpacking trip to Conundrum Hot Springs in Colorado.

11951370_10102379773441933_2560818904143232425_n

11933455_10102379771580663_7501120283410483482_n

-Went to a Cross Country meet that we did REALLY well at (the boy’s team took first and individually we had a 1st, 3rd and 7th place boys and a 1st place girl)!

The smiling faces of the Golden HS Cross Country Team!

The smiling faces of the Golden HS Cross Country Team!

-That brings us to last week, I had another Brew Tour run and got on a plane to Washington.

All the while I have been working my normal job, marketing at 3W Races, and at the recreation center in Golden. Hopefully it wont be nearly as long till my next post and I’ll be getting some race recaps finished up!

2 thoughts on “Greetings from Washington, state that is. (+Updates)

  1. Pingback: 2015 In Review | Racing The States...

  2. Pingback: Run Like the Wind – Pre-Race Prep | Racing & Wandering

What do you have to say?

