Tuesdays Newsday – Whoops, I skipped one.

Whoops I skipped a week….

Last week was…..let’s just say, not my week. It wasn’t fun. I don’t want to be super elusive about it, but I also don’t want to say much about it either. Let’s just go with: last week was that moment in a chick flick that you get sad and feel sorry for the main character, but you know that, since it’s a movie, something good is going to happen soon and you’re sure there’s a happy ending. Yeah, I like leaving it at that. I’m a pretty resilient person and don’t dwell long at all.

The GOOD part of last week was that I started school!!! Ladies and gentlemen, in about six months of time, I will be a certified personal trainer. Yep yep! It’s only been a week, and I’ve already learned a lot.

I was on the fence, rocking back and forth for a long time, and finally, Sunday before classes started, I decided to just go with it. Seem’s pretty ridiculous when you think about it: signing up for a program the day it starts, but it was a big decision. If you know me at all, I hate make decisions, especially big ones. Never mind trying to get me to decide where to eat. I’m a worrier, and I ponder every possible outcome. Fortunately, every possible outcome I could think of with starting this program turned out well! So, I was able to bring both feet to one side of the fence.

But making a last minute decision did put me behind on figuring out how I was actually going to pay for all this school, but, meh, it’s only money, I’ll figure it out….hopefully.

Classes are good so far; I’ve already learned a lot! I also have a friend that I met up at CSU in the program with me, so that’s comforting and nice to know someone and be in the exact same boat (school, job, and finances wise). And at least I’ll have a study buddy! Everyone else in the program is really nice, and there’s only one or two annoying “know-it-alls” that take up way to much of my class time asking questions/stating their options -> If you’re already a trainer…why are you wasting my time – sit down and listen, please!

Anyway, I hope things are starting to settle down, I’m still looking for a second part time job to make finances work, but I’m sure something will come along. I do enjoy my job at Dick’s. Who would have thought I’d be fantastic at selling shoes!? Especially someone like me who has a foot phobia (hint: I use a lot of hand sanitizer; more than I did in the vet tech world!). It’s actually more fun than I thought it would be, even if it doesn’t pay too incredibly well.

Let’s see…I covered relationships, school, work….oh yeah…the theme of my blog: Running! Oh man, guys, I’m still having a hard time motivating myself to run. I went for a 4 mile run last week. It felt fantastic, but it just wasn’t enough to strike up my running fever. I think I need to pick a race to train for. And new shoes (do you know how hard it is to work with beautiful running shoes!?! Every time I work I’m like, “i want this and that and this one and that one…it’s awful). So, whether it’s the next marathon I decided to try for or just a half marathon before, I need a race to motivate me to run right now. I haven’t had the mindset lately to search for races, though. I definitely have a huge “to do” list in general.

I’ll leave you with this fun picture; one of the benefits of working in shoes is once a product campaign is over, I get to go home with cool paraphernalia:

pure cadence shoes

I want these shoes sooooo bad! But now the poster hangs on my wall!

12 thoughts on “Tuesdays Newsday – Whoops, I skipped one.

  1. DERBY HALF MARATHON!! : ) i’m starting my training cycle for it when i get back to lexington after the new year – so january 7th i shall be on board! (and every tuesday from that point forth, tossing my cookies due to speedwork.) seriously though – doooo itttt!! i’m officially registering next week before the price hops up. : )

  2. Ok, that’s crazy! I came here to suggest a race as well and it is ALSO IN KENTUCKY!! Who would have thought everyone would be suggesting Kentucky as the prime race destination. I came to suggest the Run the Bluegrass half marathon in March. I thought it was a Rock n Roll race, but I guess it switched back to the original event management company. Anyway, work with the Wienermobile is going to have me in KY that weekend and so I’m definitely signing up to check another state off the list.

    If you’re not down for KY, it would still be fun to maybe meet up at another race sometime in the year. Have you done a full marathon before?

    • I’m really thinking about the derby half…where is the bluegrass half? BUt I would love to meet up for a race! I have not done a full before. I was training for the las vegas one, but life got in the way! I’m trying to figure out which one I want to try for again

      • Bluegrass is in Lexington. I think it’s the last weekend in March? I’m going to start looking at putting together a race wish-list here soon. I’ll let you know if I find any good ones! (Or ones that have good reviews for the full!)

      • Let me know when you put together your race list, i’m really trying to get mine going as well. It’s all coming down to money for me right now…I have the schedule flexibility and physical endurance strength etc, its all about money. :/

What do you have to say?

