Run for the Zoo, Albuquerque, NM – Pre Race Review

This Sunday I will cross off New Mexico for my completed states!  I am traveling to Albuquerque this weekend to complete the Run for the Zoo!

Two reasons I’m SUPER excited for this race:

1. It’s in another state (YAY)

2. It’s a run for a ZOO!! Isn’t that awesome!?

I am a huge animal fan. I mean, HUGE! I did, after all, major in Zoology in college and I currently am a vet tech. In all seriousness, I really do love animals. It’s my passion. I eventually want a real career involving animals especially something like conservation biology.

So, the proceeds for this race go to support the NM Biopark Society – so it supports the zoo, the aquarium and botanic gardens. And what better way to spend my race money on if it’s going to a zoo!?  Sounds perfect for me! I really do want to try to find all my races that go to some kind of good cause. I know that Amy from Lavender Parking will be there too!  Pretty exciting!

This event features all different milage of races. I am signed up for the 10k. I debated between that and doing the half marathon but I’m glad I went with the lower milage because of my hip hurting. (I have not gone to the doctor yet; and I probably didn’t do it any favors by playing soccer and rock climbing the day after my race – I couldn’t help myself! – but I did take two days off from running monday and tuesday, and finally went for a slow 4 mile run Wednesday. No hip pain! So we’ll see about this weekend). I took a look at the course map, and it looks like part of it follows a river, so I bet it might be a very pretty run.

I am really excited to get a another state knocked down for my project. I’ve been to New Mexico only once before when I was a kid…but I barely remember it. I don’t honestly even remember the city I was at right now. But I know it wasn’t Albuquerque. I love to travel to new places, so this is super fun for me, even if I’m only going to be gone 2 days!  HAHA! Me and my fellow running friend will be driving down from Denver early Saturday morning. She is also a science/animal nerd like myself (she even works with me!) and we’re both super excited to tour the Albuquerque zoo after the race – I’m pretty sure we even get in free!

My goals for this race:

1. Make it through with no hip pain! Maybe not too realistic, but until I get to a doc, it has been worrying me.

2. Run under 60 min. My PR for 10k is last year at the Bolder Boulder. I ran it in 1:01:19. I only need to knock of 1 minute and 19 seconds! I can do this!

3. Enjoy the new place! It’s a fun thing for me, and I really do want to take in the views while I run!

From reading everyone’s post this week, it sounds like a lot of you have races this weekend! Good luck on all them!

10 thoughts on “Run for the Zoo, Albuquerque, NM – Pre Race Review

  1. Sounds like fun! Can’t wait for the recap! I also must say that I came across that marathon photo today too and soooooo really wanted to include it in my post but restrained to save it for when we are getting ready for the CHI marathon. LOL! 🙂

What do you have to say?

