My Average Week’s Workout

I thought I would share with you guys my average week’s workouts and training that I do to 1) stay in shape and 2) prepare for all these races. However, I am not a personal trainer or anything; this schedule is what I have become accustomed to and works for me.  I have come up with via trail and error; researching books, magazine, etc; and talking to people.  Also, I have a strange work schedule, so I am able to spend a lot of time training/working out – I work at night, so I have the whole day to do whatever I want – all week long!

Quick View: Running 5 days a week; Strength Training 3 days a week

Running: I try to run 5 days a week, split up. So, I’ll take two days off at some point to rest from running. Usually it’s not a set day. I’ll choose my days off depending on how I’m feeling, how sore I am, what kind of time I have 0r what the rest of my week looks like. I try to to 3-4 short runs (I call anything 5 miles and under a short run) a week and have 1-2 long runs a week. Right now, I’m training for a half marathon, so my next long run will be about 10 miles this weekend. I gradually go up in miles as I get closer to the race, and will only do the full 13.1 miles on race day and a couple weeks before. I won’t run the full length within at least a week before the race. When I did my first half marathon, I actually bought an online training program that helped me increase my miles until race day. I was very happy with it, and it definitely helped…however, I cannot remember for the life of me what website I used, sorry!

Strength training: I’ve always done weight training. Even when I’m training for a race, I’ll still hit the gym about 3 days a week. Right now, I’m working with a personal trainer, so that takes care of my gym time. But before, I would spend, for instance, maybe monday doing legs/lower body, wednesday doing upper body arms and back, and a third day, usually friday, doing a lot of core work. I stretch and do abs every time I workout even on just running days and usually after the actually run itself.

Here’s an example; this week looked like this:

Monday: off day (I had a lot of things to do)

Tuesday: I did a short run (3 miles) on the treadmill and Legs workout with my trainer.

Wednesday: 6 mile hill run

Thursday: Today, 2 mile run on the treadmill and upper body/core workout with my trainer.

Friday: Run – probably about 4 miles

Saturday: Boot camp class at my gym

Sunday: Long run..10 miles! and soccer!

But Like I said, my days off and each week look different; I like to switch it up cause I get bored really easily.  I mean, a majority of my days off happened to fall on the weekend, but, come on, its the weekend – need I say more?!  Another thing, even if I’m not going to the gym or a run, I’m a pretty active person – I go snowboarding or play soccer with my indoor league on my days “off.” I hope this gives you a little insight on how I do run all these races and maybe will help someone get their own workout schedule down!

One thought on “My Average Week’s Workout

What do you have to say?

